How I Started My Training Despite The Barriers

Good Afternoon, my goal seeking enthusiasts!

I’m feeling pretty good today, mentally, and very stretched out, physically. I woke up in an ok mood (at a ridiculously late time) and was greeted by my dog sitting on my face. She really knows how to motivate me to get out of bed ūüėā. So I, partially unwillingly, got up and started my journey (again lol).

Today started with a weigh-in and measurements, however unfortunate.

Beginning Weight: 122 lbs

Measurements:

  • Chest: 31.5″
  • Waist: 25.5″
  • Hips: 36″
  • Arms: 10″
  • Legs: 21″

So it has been a while since my first post (back in January…Yikes!) so I’m going to post my schedule again and will try to do so periodically so newcomers can tell what my schedule is for training!

Monday’s: Yoga ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†Tuesday’s: Run¬†¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†Wednesday’s: Elliptical/Bike
Thursday’s: Run¬†¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†Friday’s: Strength Training/Sprints
Saturday’s: Long Run¬†¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬†Sunday’s: Easy Run/Yoga/Swimming

After I had finished my measurements and weigh-in section of the first day I moved on to my yoga portion! Yoga is great for many reasons and has been a part of many studies studying the benefits with people suffering from anxiety and depression. Not only does it help with your flexibility and relaxation techniques but it also has been studied as a therapeutic aide for people suffering from depression anxiety. Yoga decreases psychological arousal (reduces heart rate, lowers blood pressure, and calms respiration), increases pain tolerance, improves moods by lowering feelings of anxiety, stress and depression, and helps control breathing.

I love using doyogawithme.com for my yoga videos! They have hundreds of yoga videos people can view for free with a wide range of yoga styles and teachers. They even have a special section of the website just for beginners (which is immediately where I go) where the instructors will work through easier moves and break down how to modify others if needed.

So for my yoga training, I have tasked myself with doing at least 60 minutes of yoga on Monday’s and Sunday’s. It’s suggested that if you’re ramping up your mileage you should stick with relaxing yoga so your muscles have time to rest and heal. When your training eases up then it’s ok to increase the intensity and frequency of your yoga training.

If you’re looking for more a more relaxing pace you should look up videos or classes that use Hatha, Iyengar, or Restorative Yoga. If you are looking to challenge yourself or amp it up a bit more than maybe search for Ashtanga, Power Yoga, or Yin/Yang. You can learn more about the different types of yoga on the DoYogaWithMe website.

Today I wanted to do some yoga for my back and shoulders because they have been tight lately. So I found a video taught by Sarah Jane Steele that features yoga that specifically worked the upper back and shoulders. It was an interesting experience (my dog loves when I do yoga lol) and I¬†had to quit a little early because¬†of my knee. I’ve had a problem with my knees (tendonitis) that has grown over the past few years. I thought it best to keep myself from getting injured on my first day back and did some simple stretches and rubs instead.

Afterward my yoga and stretching session, I took my shower, had my breakfast (although more like lunch by that time), and continued to start my day.

When you own your breath, nobody can steal your peace.

Leave a Reply

